Constructive criticism

My father’s girlfriend is a funny person. She just called me a few minutes ago to say that she has started reading my novel.

First off she said she has liked what she has read so far — which I was glad to hear!

Then she said that she had already taken some notes on a few points she wanted to bring to my attention. That made me worry a little. She said she didn’t like one of my characters’ name, for instance. She said it was like the character’s name didn’t match the personality, or the “kind” of character she (it’s a female character) is. And she may be right. I might give it a thought.

But it’s funny how she took the “task” of reading my novel seriously. It’s cool. Although I don’t like being criticized much (and I guess no one does), I do understand that it can be quite interesting for me. Specially in this case. So I hope she can finish reading it all (that is, the five chapters a handed her yesterday) and tell me her thoughts on it ASAP! 🙂

Leave a Reply

