Quality of life

My dad seems to be worried about me constantly getting out from work so late. And he is right. I need to put a limit to this, you know. I mean, it’s not like I want to get out at 6 p.m. from now on, of course. But I need to impose a little more “respect” in the sense that I need to let my boss know that I’ve got a life, too, and limits in relation to how much work I can manage to deliver each day.

Problem is my boss doesn’t seem to be able to say no to her clients. My friend tells me it’s because the litigation team at our office always complains that we from the consultancy team don’t make as much money as they do. Still, I sometimes think that accepting exiguous deadlines actually depreciates our work. It’s like “oh, they can do it a couple days… So what they to has gotta be a piece of cake”. Like “they just probably copy and paste it from their previous legal opinions on the same subject”. What they don’t acknowledge is that we sometimes stay here up 1 a.m. to “copy and paste” that “peace of cake”!

Anyhow. I’ve just been thinking about that lately. I don’t know if this is what I want for my life. In fact, I’m pretty sure it’s not. But at the same time I realyze that I’m going to have to work late every once in a while at whatever job I may pick. It’s inevitable if you’re a hard-working person. Problem is that it hasn’t been just once in a while.

I mean, I love my job. I really do. I consider myself as a very lucky person for working with such honorable, accessible and understanding people. I just don’t know if I’m prepared to go on with this routine for too long. Our team is short right now, we’re basically two juniors and a partner (aside from the two interns — well, now it’s actually only one, since the other one is now working for the litigation team), no supervisor, no senior lawyer to review our work. And the demand doesn’t seem to get any milder because of that. On the contrary.

I don’t know. I’m just letting my thoughts out here. I’m not thinking about quitting or anything. I just wish there was a way that I could fix things and have a better quality of life.

Leave a Reply

