Fallible

Lately I’ve noticed that I haven’t been talking to God much. I’ve been so busy with work and trying to settle everything for my wedding that sometimes the only time I think of God is when I go to bed — and I thank God for my mom, who taught me that habit. So yesterday I decided to set an alarm three times a day to remind me to take some time to meditate and pray.

The word I read this morning was Psalm 143: 2, which says: “Do not bring your servant into judgment, for no one living is righteous before you”, and 1 Peter 3: 20, which says: “to those who were disobedient long ago when God waited patiently in the days of Noah while the ark was being built. In it only a few people, eight in all, were saved through water.” In fact, I’ve been meditating on this a lot lately. We human beings are all evil one way or the other. We will never be entirely good while living on this Earth. Thankfully, though, God is merciful enough to loves us in spite of that. We need to be very grateful that he sent us his Son to take our place at the cross and forgive us from our sins. And the fact that we’re all sinners also means that we need to be more patient with others. We need to understand that people around us are just as fallible as we are, and that we cannot expect that they won’t fail us in any way, or that they won’t make mistakes, because that’s exactly what we do to them and to everyone else all the time.

Leave a Reply

